They say the windows are the windows to the soul

Standard

At long last! THEY’RE HERE!!!

Dedicated Casa Fickbonne readers (‘sup Andrea) will remember that this spring our house was BRUTALLY ATTACKED by fist-sized globes of ice hurtling from the atmosphere. That’s right: the hail did about $15,000 worth of damage to our house, and since then we’ve been working with insurance and an exteriors contractor to get it all fixed.

The most pressing issue was, of course, the windows.

Yeah. Not cool.

So we spent almost two months with our windows boarded up while the contractors replaced the roof and gutters. We had to wait a little while for them to order the windows because–of course!–our house is a century old and it’s not like anything in the place is a standard size. So we got custom windows!

Last week our team of brilliant and friendly contractors came in and replaced the broken windows. Because insurance was paying for the broken windows, we decided to spend some of our own money to replace some of the old but unbroken windows too. We got a little bit of a discount because we were giving the contractor so much business on our hail-damaged house.

So now we have new windows in the bathroom and both bedrooms! FEAST YOUR EYES!

IMG_2783

IMG_2785

Beauteous, right? My crappy photography doesn’t do them justice. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen such perfect windows in my life. Check it:

These babies are DOUBLE HUNG. They slide up and down and all around!

They have SCREENS. Yes, that’s right! At last we can open our windows without turning our house into Mothapalooza 2017!

They even LOCK! Yes really! Gone are the days when we’d leave the house and just hope no one would slide a window open!

They AREN’T EVEN WOOD. Nothing against wood as a building material, but it leaves something wanting where weather-proofing is concerned.

They’re even DOUBLE-PANED. Think of all the energy savings from these well-insulated bad boys.

They MAINTAIN THE PERIOD AESTHETIC OF OUR 1921 CRAFTSMAN BUNGALOW. Our original windows have wooden grids in them to hold the panes in place. The new windows have the same grid patterns as the old, so they won’t look too out of place on our old home.

The one in the bathroom is even TEMPERED GLASS. Yeah! I didn’t have to do my own half-assed frosting job. See?

IMG_2786

Have I mentioned I love my new windows? They’re Simonton, by the way.

The plan is to replace all the windows in the house eventually, and we’ve gotten a good start thanks to the insurance. If I have my druthers, we’ll replace the kitchen windows within the next six months. Especially since one of those jerks recently smashed my thumb so bad I’m probably going to lose the nail.

Much thanks to Energy Star Exteriors for all their hard work on our house. Charlie, Darren, Ken, and the whole team were just about the nicest, most reassuring people to work with. The owner of the company, Kirk, even came out to my house when I thought there was a problem, and made sure to work with me personally to make sure I was completely satisfied with the work. And as you all know, I appreciate when companies treat me like the queen I am!

The roof and gutters are 10x better than when we moved in, we have effective ventilation throughout the house, and our windows are perfect.

The last piece of Hailmageddon recovery: painting the house. Stay tuned!

One thought on “They say the windows are the windows to the soul

Leave a Reply

